Chocolate banana oatmeal cookies

I have a rule for myself when it comes to sweets: if I don’t want it badly enough to make it, I really don’t want it.  Because of this rule, I don’t make desserts very often (unless we’re having company).  That said, I was trying to find a use for a very large bag of quick cook oatmeal, so I decided to make these chewy oatmeal cookies.  I added peanut butter and chocolate chips, and they are delicious, but they are definitely an occasional treat sort of cookies.

With that in mind, I decided to try this again with some modifications. I traded a stick of butter for 2 bananas, and left out the white sugar entirely.  Because I am also a mad scientist, I also swapped out 1/3 of a cup of flour for cocoa powder.  I would like to point out that these cookies are NOT healthy. Nope, still cookies, still full o’fat and sugar and tastiness.  They are much fluffier than the original cookie, with a nice chocolate and banana flavor and little bursts of peanut butter from the chips.

Ingredients

1 stick butter (room temperature)

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 small/medium bananas, very ripe

1 tsp (or more) vanilla extract

1 cup +2 tbsp AP flour

1/3 cup natural cocoa powder (if you only have Dutch-processed, use baking powder instead of baking soda)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3 cups quick-cook oats

1 1/2 cup chunks (I used 1 cup pb chips and 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate)

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugar together in the bowl of stand mixer until smooth and a little fluffy.  Add the bananas, and continue mixing until the mixture has come together.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.  In a small mixing bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Add the flour mixture to the mixing bowl and beat on low until combined.  Stir in the oats until mixed through, and add your chunks.

Mmm...cookie dough. (Warning: Never eat raw cookie dough that has eggs in it.  Unless you're willing to take that risk, and you have some cookie dough on your fingers. Yum...)

Mmm…cookie dough. (Warning: Never eat raw cookie dough that has eggs in it. Unless you’re willing to take that risk, and you have some cookie dough on your fingers. Yum…)

Spoon dough onto a parchment or silpat lined baking sheet, smooshing (technical term) the cookies down slightly.

See, smushed.

See, smooshed.

Bake at 350 for about 14 minutes (your oven may vary).

Cookies!

Cookies!

These turned out surprising well, considering I was diverging pretty far from the original recipe.  With the size of cookies I made, I came out with 32 cookies, but you can definitely make them smaller for a larger yield.

Leave a Reply

