Mrs. O’Callaghan’s Soda Bread

So in this month’s issue of Bon Appetit, I found a recipe for Irish soda bread that looked really good. Ever since I was a kid, my mom made James Beard’s Soda bread recipe, and it’s good, but the soda taste is very pronounced. I’ve made it the past few years for Chris’ family’s St. Patrick’s day corned beef dinner, but I always keep my eye out for a better recipe (with NO raisins!). I gave this new recipe a try (you can find it here, at epicurious). Chris and I both really like it. It has a pronounced nutty wheat flavor and is slightly sweet from the brown sugar. With a nice smear of butter, it’s probably the tastiest soda bread I’ve had. Next time I’ll either make it into two boules or bake it in the loaf pan (this time I just made a free form loaf-it turned into a bread-monster).

One comment on “Mrs. O’Callaghan’s Soda Bread

  1. Debby says:

    i agree. I actually made this recipe and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

