Bagels

I’m a fan of bagels, and since I’ve been eating bagels for breakfast recently, I decided to just try my hand at making some. I found a recipe here that has produced some great results.

Ingredients
4 cups bread flour
1 tbsp sugar
1.5 tsp salt
2 tsp yeast
1 tbsp canola oil
1.25-1.5 cups warm water

I typically just go ahead and proof the yeast with the sugar and water for a few minutes. The yeasty mixture then gets added to the flour and salt, along with the oil. I usually do this in my stand mixer, and just let the dough hook do its thing for 5-10 minutes, until the dough is smooth. It will be a pretty stiff dough. Turn out onto a work surface, and cut the dough into 8 equal portions. Let the dough rest for 10-20 minutes. At this point, put on a pot of water to boil (I usually add a tablespoon or so of sugar to the water as well). Shape the portioned dough into bagels by rolling the dough into a snake, and then smashing the ends together to make a circle (I’m still working on this part of it-they’re ok, but not quite as smooth as I hope they will be some day). Let the formed bagels rise for another 20 minutes. Preheat the oven to 425 and grease a baking tray. When the bagels are ready, drop them gently into the boiling water in batches, not crowding the pot. Let them boil for 1 minute, and then flip them over to cook the other side. Place them on the baking tray, and when all the bagels have been boiled, bake for 20 minutes, flipping half way through.

These bagels are pretty tasty, and they have a good chew to them (which is a requirement for any good bagel).

Leave a Reply

