Great Peanut Butter Cookies

Chris is a huge fan of peanut butter cookies, but I’ve always been disappointed with the results from the traditional recipes. I poked around online until I found this ridiculously simple peanut butter cookie recipe.

Ingredients
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Mix ingredients. Roll into walnut sized balls and smash down with a fork. Bake for 13 minutes.

Peanut Butter Cookies-Fresh from the oven

Peanut Butter Cookies-Fresh from the oven


We also did this with splenda and we both like it better. It was more cookie-like, better texture. For that, we only used 3/4 cups of splenda instead of the full cup of sugar. Baking time is the same.

4 comments on “Great Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. happycrow says:

    I was right with you until you got to splenda. EWWWW!

    • caffeinatedkatie says:

      Well, we made them for Chris’ mom, who is diabetic. I’m pretty sensitive to the funky flavor of artificial sweeteners, but I can’t really tell with these.

  2. Kathy Holzman says:

    I loved them, I took some of them to work. My co-workers didn’t even guess that they had splenda in them.

  3. Chris says:

    Russ,

    Believe it or not, I actually do think the splenda version is better – they don’t have the sort of gritty quality that the sugar ones do, and the texture was a little nicer. The peanut butter flavour came through a little more clearly as well. That said, I’d like to try the sugar version again with a bit less sugar, and see if that helps the texture. I’d also like to try them with brown sugar and vanilla, and see if that gets us to a sort of butterscotch flavor.

Leave a Reply

