Squid Ink Tagliatelle with Bolognese Sauce

Today for dinner, Katie and I got up the courage to try some squid ink tagliatelle that I purchased at World Market a couple of weeks ago. We made a batch of Giada’s Simple Bolognese sauce to go with it. We left out the celery, because we didn’t have any, and we used more herbs. Dried basil, oregano, and thyme, plus more pepper than the recipe calls for. We used slightly less tomato, as we had a box of Pomi brand chopped tomatos on hand, which weigh in at 26oz instead of 28oz. We also left the Parmigiano out, and added it as we served it. I don’t relish the idea of trying to get Parmigiano to unstick from cast iron. The sauce turned out well, though it was very very chunky. I have to admit that I’ve become very enamoured of the simple tomato sauce posted by Barbaresco, and I really don’t like this as well. I guess I just prefer meatballs, or Italian sausage chunks in that simple sauce over Bolognese.

I should note also how different this sauce is compared to the Bolognese sauce from the Silver Spoon, which uses 1tbsp of tomato paste, diluted ‘in a little water’ to 1lb of meat. What this difference in ratio means culturally, I have no idea.

I was frankly amazed at how utterly normal the squid ink pasta was. It didn’t have any flavour beyond that of typical pasta, and it looked really cool. It also did not bleed color into the water we cooked it in, which surprised me a great deal. I had sort of expected the ink to turn the water black.

Anyway, it was definitely cool, and I’d gladly do it again.

Leave a Reply

