Just a little update – my life.

For any readers that haven’t heard yet, I found out just before Easter that I passed the Kansas bar exam. Last Friday, I was sworn in as an attorney before the Kansas Supreme Court and the US District Court for the District of Kansas. So: law school, check; bar exam, check; sworn in, check. Uh-oh, it looks like I’m running out of reasons not to grow up and be all responsible-like. I guess this means I need to find a job now. 🙂

Chris

4 comments on “Just a little update – my life.

  1. Anna says:

    We mourn the passing of the soul of Chris… 🙂
    Seriously, that’s awesome news, and clear cause for celebration. Good luick with the job hunting…do you have any specialization, or is that a dumb question?

  2. Anna may be wrong; some people who are also called attorneys develop their soul as they see the law as a tool for social development. 🙂

    Congrats, Chris, on joining the profession.

    Jonathan Kramer, Esq.
    PassTheBarExam.com

  3. Ash says:

    Does anyone know exactly when the New York Bar results will be published please? Some web sites say mid-May, others say early May. Im dying here…

  4. Chris says:

    Anna,

    The soul removal process was quite painful, the dementors administered the kiss, and then we joined their ranks. 😉 As far as the job thing goes, I really don’t know. I’m just going to try to grab anything I can, basically. We don’t really get to specialize in law school. As I understand it, people generally develop a specialization in the first few years of practice. As far as interest goes, I’d be happy with real estate, banking, sports law, oil/gas/water law, etc. I want to avoid torts/tax/family law/crim defense. I’d be ok with prosecution or other gov’t jobs though.

    Jonathan,
    Thanks.
    I wish I would have found your site while I was doing the study/wait for results thing.

    Just FYI – for bar prep I picked up a Bar/Bri KS book, and last years set of the PMBR red/blue book s and the 29 CD lecture set. I listened to the lectures carefully, did several hundred practice questions, and skimmed the high points of the KS book. I couldn’t bring myself to spend the money on the bar/bri prep course. All told, I think my materials cost me about $450.00

    Ash,

    Sorry – I can’t help you there. The KS results were released the day before Easter, and we took the exam on 27/28 February – but we only had about 180 people taking it. I can only assume you have many many more, and thus a longer wait time.

Leave a Reply

