Plug for Anna: Gulyas

I’ve been meaning to do this for a while, and have forgotten a couple of times. Mea culpa!

In August of 04, I begged Anna to post up her Gulyas recipe, having had it once when I visited her and Happycrow.

I’ve made this several times, and its been, without fail, absolutely wonderful. I will admit that I tend to extend the cooking time just a touch (allowing it to reduce a bit more) and use as much *hot* Hungarian paprika as Katie will allow me to use (generally 50% hot, and 50% not, as we can’t find ‘half-sharp’ in any of the stores here (though we haven’t checked Penzey’s yet – we’re going tomorrow), and they have the Pride of Szeged hot and regular for dirt-cheap prices at World Market.

I also second the recommendation of “Bull’s Blood” as an accompanying wine. It’s very very inexpensive, and very different to my taste than the cab sav type things, especially those california fruit cocktails…er…wines.

This is an absolutely wonderful winter dish.
Link to Anna’s Gulyas recipe

2 comments on “Plug for Anna: Gulyas

  1. Anna says:

    Yep, cold weather is coming again, so it’s gulyas time…thanks for the plug, you wonderful swordchefs!!

  2. Chris says:

    Indeed – though I’ve never been one to shy away from gulyas, even midsummer. 🙂

    We’re still in catch-up mode here to an extent, as I’ve been recalling some of the things Katie and I cooked during the last semester – and I’d been meaning to plug your gulyas for a while.

    Interestingly enough, at the end of August, before we headed back to school, Katie and I caught the “Good Eats” episode where Alton Brown made hand-pies.. We experimented and made gulyas with ground beef and no potatos and reduced it until the liquid was only slightly more wet than paste. We made a biscuit dough rolled thin, and used left-over mashed potatos (about a tbsp to 2 tbsps of the gulyas-ish filling) to make a rather nifty meat pie. We sauteed them in a little butter – and they were wonderful. I’d like to try it again with a less sweet version of the bierock dough, and small diced meat and potato chunks instead of mashed. Sure – its not really gulyas anymore, but getting close, in a form that is both portable and freezes well, would be utterly cool.

Leave a Reply

